2010 Achievers’ Dinner

The Achievers’ Dinner was a splendid tribute to the high achievers of 2010. Congratulations to all who were invited, and especially to those who were awarded the 125th Anniversary Past Pupils’ Trophies.

 One of the highlights on the Wynberg Girls’ High calendar is the Achievers’ Dinner. This year it was held on 5 October. It is an event to which only the senior students are invited, and only those who have achieved in each of the four pillars. Ms Edwards and Mrs Chikte worked together to make the evening a spectacular occasion. The hall was transformed; outside caterers, Thyme to Dine, planned a menu fit for royalty and special guests included a carefully chosen motivational speaker, Paula Chowles, a former Wynberg Student and winner of Vodacom Journalist of the Year awards in the General News Television Category. MC for the evening was Ms Glover.

A high point in the evening is the announcement of the prestigious 125th Anniversary Past Pupils’ Trophies by Mrs Harding, and the awarding of these by our guest speaker.

Three candidates are nominated for exceptional achievement in each of the four pillars, and on an allocation of points, the recipient is determined.

Nominees for the Academic Pillar were Julia Green, Nicola Suttle and Clare Rodseth.

In the Cultural pillar they were Amy Campbell, Julia Green and Nicola Suttle.



In Sport they were Quanita Bobbs, Mymoenah Gamiet and Clare Rodseth


for Service, Aneeka Domingo, Rehana Odenaal and Vicky Stock.



This year has brought with it extraordinarily high achievers – world class! Even at that level, the awards were finely contested and it was clear from the nominees that there were numbers of all-round achievers with three of the girls being nominated for two pillars.

However, the the winners of the trophies in 2010 were: Clare Rodseth (Academics) Amy Campbell (Culture) Rehana Odendaal (Service) Clare Rodseth (Sport).

History has been made as Clare Rodseth took up two of these trophies. Congratulations to our very talented girls. We are exceptionally proud of them.

Below from left to right: Winners of the 125th Past Pupils’ Trophies
 Rehana, Clare and Amy, flanked by Mrs Harding and Paula Chowles